The Beginning – Butter is better.

When you put something out to the universe you often do this because you hope to get what you’re asking for. At times you don’t ask but the universe keeps putting something in your face. That is the case with my blog. And so after many months of the universe telling me to do this, here it is!

I actually thought about this post while falling asleep the other night and wished I had the energy to jump out of bed and start writing. It’s taken me far too long to get to this point. The reality is that I am scared, I’m scared that my writing won’t be funny or that you won’t find my blog useful or it just won’t take off. The thing I realized is that doesn’t matter. What matters is that I write and I share and I hope someone finds it valuable aside from me.

The premise behind wanting to share this information is my overall thoughts and feelings about health, how food heals and how yummy food can be. I grew up in a small town in Quebec (the Eastern Townships – probably one of the greatest places on earth. Well I thought so at the time and have some of my fondest memories as a child growing up in a small town – to the extent that my goal is to have my family grow up in a small town as well. Thank goodness my husband-to-be is also from a small town and he agrees!)<–This will happen often (tangents I mean) Ok so growing up in Quebec where I was fortunate to be raised with homemade, wholesome foods. My parents made everything from scratch and we had a vegetable garden; processed treats only entered the house when I was really good at convincing my parents that “all the other kids at school have them” and then never ate them again because I really didn’t enjoy them. Food was not something that I valued as a child – but I did learn to try new things and even my palette changed on me multiple times from liking something to hating it to liking it again. I always say to kids (sometimes adults) who don’t want to try something “what if this is the best thing ever and you will never know because you never tried it?” that usually resulted in them trying it and about 50% of the time actually liking it. To this day I will try anything – because I am afraid that I am missing out.

After moving away from home and spending time on my own food turned into a way of coping. Coping with what? I’m not quite sure. But I just liked to eat. I felt hungry all the time and couldn’t stop sometimes. I was overwhelmingly aware of dieting trends and calorie concerns, eventually losing much of the pleasures from food that I’d grown up with. In my early 20’s I developed an eating disorder. Not many people know this but I have no problems sharing this because I believe that I went through this for a reason. Still struggling with an eating disorder and trying to survive the next chapter in my life when university began and my life in Vancouver really got interesting. Food now became something I enjoyed and I didn’t feel the need to abuse it. It was no longer about calorie content – this passion and love and the sense of community around food as well as the pleasures that come with cooking and enjoying fresh local products emerged. I became a vegetarian (for the second time in my life – but this time I ate fish and nothing else) which lasted 4 solid years (total of about 7 years but again this was seriously vegetarian to “the extreme” – although I did still wear leather? Figure that one out!) I cut out eating processed foods and focused on eating high-end quality ingredients. Even when I wanted “bad food”; “junk food”; “treats”; I managed to focus on quality and not on quantity.

Another shift happened after I had lost almost all the weight that I wanted and was feeling good physically – things started to go downhill emotionally and spiritually. I turned back to food and actually gained more than I had previously weighed in my life. Weight loss is difficult when things aren’t lining up for the soul. In the last 2 years I have moved out of being vegetarian and back to eating meat and have since developed some “food sensitivities” (Until it’s confirmed I cannot say celiac – and same goes for whatever you might call a dairy allergy/intolerance). My latest and greatest “way of eating” is the Alkaline diet – which I look forward to sharing with you. I have spent a few years really working on my inner self therefore my outer self is starting to catch up, I will share that part of my journey as well.

Butter vs. Margarine
. The main principal behind my lifestyle is the simple concept of butter vs. margarine. So many people have this idea that margarine is better for them – because it is lower in calories (than butter). Although this is true, the reality is that margarine is made of all sorts of chemicals that are toxic to your body. Toxic, as in, acidic, as in, acid. What does acid do? It erodes things – therefore, eroding your insides. 
Although butter is full of calories it is also made from 1 ingredient that is produced naturally. Real, healthy, whole foods vs. fabricated, processed, man made foods. That is how I believe food can heal your body. Doesn’t mean we can’t enjoy some of these other things, it’s all about moderation and listening to your body.

Butter is probably the greatest thing on earth (in my opinion). This is where the shift really began – when I was eating margarine because I was on Weight Watchers © and wanted to lose weight and ‘be healthy’. Boy was I surprised when it hit me – just because it has less calories doesn’t mean it’s good for you! That’s when I knew that I wanted to be healthy inside and out. Weight loss was part of the journey but that my body is the only body I will ever have and it was time to start treating it better, was the foundation for this change. My shift started with a book, a book that to this day I still love and have read multiple times. Michael Pollan’s “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” – where he took me on a journey to discover food in all its forms and make a decision for myself of what worked and what didn’t, for me! He didn’t tell me what to do – he gave me the information and let me decide.

The purpose for “Here’s to Butter” is to educate others on food as a wonderful and pleasurable life source and show that it’s not something to be taken for granted. To show how you can be healthy, enjoy the foods you like and demonstrate how food can heal the body and soul. I love to bake – this is one of my all-time passions. I find it soothing and of course delicious and I get a huge kick out of making other’s say “DAMN THAT’S GOOD!” You my friends will get to witness these tasty delights and I’m open for suggestion. I love trying new recipes so if you have something you would like me to make – LET ME KNOW!

I open the floor for discussion – I want to know your thoughts and feelings and I want you to challenge me. I don’t claim to know it all but I do my own research by trying things on myself and seeing the results. My fiancée (Ian) is also a part of my experimentation; he gets involved in these trials and has seen successes as well. I am not an expert and don’t claim to be – I want to learn and grow in all facets of my life.

I am excited for this journey to begin and look forward to all the up’s and downs along the way. I am even more excited about you joining me on this adventure.

I think that’s good for my first post! Here it goes – I’m posting this and I hope you enjoy it!

Here’s to Butter friends!

Taïsa

20131111-211301.jpg

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Well written, and great information about butter vs. margarine; the little you said on that subject alone is interesting and thought provoking. I don’t eat margarine, but I bet a lot of people do (or have, like me) and think it’s better.

    Looking forward to tomorrow’s blog post!

  2. Kaya says:

    Congratulations on a wonderful beginning to your blog! I love the time you take examining your relationship with food and your body, powerful stuff! We`re all on this journey together, can`t wait to read more posts!

  3. Jennifer Low McEleney says:

    So proud of you! Looking forward to seeing the website expand (but no hurry). As a suggestion, I’d love some crock-pot recipes that will get me through lunch for the week 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    I love youR story, and your love for healthy foods! I look forward to following your recipes, stories and anything new and interesting that you will share about food! Great first post!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Great job Taisa! Looking forward to following your journey! Love the title of your blog….

  6. Lindsay says:

    Great post hun! So proud of you.
    It was entertaining, well written, heart-felt… I could go on.
    I’m so happy for you! 😀
    xox

Leave a Reply

