Weekend Update – Friends & Bread making

Hello Friends – I know it’s been a few days since my last post. I was really enjoying sharing with you on a daily basis but I feared that the quality of my writing wouldn’t be as strong if I was rushing to get something up. I know not everything has to be perfect, but I would still like to take time and effort to put into each post. I will get a good flow of when to post and when not to and I felt my few days break has been appropriate. 

I think the hardest part about not sharing everyday is the amount of things that add up that you want to write about. Today I will share with you the bread I made in the KitchenAid Mixer and tell you about the wonderful time I had with friends.

Ian wanted me to make bread in the mixer and as we know he was impatient and I threw together a cake. Today I decided that I would make some yummy Gluten Free Bread to have with some homemade tomato soup for dinner. Here’s what I used:

20131118-210023.jpg

This recipe only makes 1 loaf (which is plenty when you are trying to watch what you eat)

It’s light, and springy like regular bread without the gluten. I am in the middle of trying to find the best GF bread recipe that has the least amount of starch and dairy (this one is dairy free but has 1 whole cup of starch in it)

20131118-202907.jpg
Gluten Free Sandwich Bread – by Gluten Free Mama

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons active dry yeast (1 packet)
1.5 tablespoons sugar
1.5 cups warm water (110 degrees approx.)
1 cup cornstarch (I’m going to try to figure something different out in this. I’ll keep you posted)
1 cup brown rice flour (you can substitute for millet flour if you don’t have brown rice)
1 cup sorghum flour
1 tablespoon xanthan gum
2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
3 egg whites (room temperature)

Instructions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
2. Heat the water in a glass measuring cup in the microwave for 1 min 25 seconds…this should put it at just about the right temp, depending on the strength of your microwave. Stir in the sugar to dissolve. Add in your 2 TB (packets) of yeast and let sit until foamy…..about 10 minutes.
3. Using the paddle attachment of your stand mixer on low speed, mix the flours, cornstarch, salt and xanthan gum until well combined.
4. Add the yeast/water mixture and mix well.
5. In a small bowl, mix the egg whites, apple cider vinegar and olive oil. Add to stand mixer. Mix everything on high speed for 5 minutes.
6. Spray your loaf pan (1 lb capacity, 8 1/2″ x 4 1/2″) with non-stick cooking spray
7. Spoon dough into loaf pan and smooth out the top with a spatula. After this step, do not touch the dough again!!
8. Cover your loaf pan and let your dough rise until it just about doubles. I cover with a damp towel and let it sit for 90mins.
9. Bake for 55 minutes. If it begins to brown too much on the top, cover very loosely with aluminum foil for the last 15 or 20 minutes of baking.
10. Let cool completely (out of pan) on a cooling rack before slicing.

Notes: If you know you are baking bread in the morning, put your 3 eggs in a bowl on the counter overnight or warm them with a bowl of hot water.
You can store this on the counter in a zip loc bag over night, but it really tastes best the same day it is made. It still tastes good the second day, but not as spongy. Can be frozen and toasted right from freezer.

Friday I spent some time with a friend I used to work with. It was awesome to catch up! We chatted for almost 5 hours straight! 

Saturday was a crazy day! I also spent some time with a new friend. We spent 2 hours talking over coffee and scones from a local coffee shop. Matchstick Coffee. Whats cool about this place is the people who own it I bought my condo from almost 3 years ago. The coffee is great, the decor is very simple, open and rustic and everything is baked fresh! The premise behind Matchstick is about going back to our roots. What I love about this concept is that it translates to so many things in our lives. I usually bring this concept back to food, which would take me directly to the Paleo and Alkaline diets. These diets focus on REAL food ingredients. Not packaged, processed crap.

(Part 1 of The Alkaline Diet – just to get you started) The Alkaline diet was something that was recommended to me when I was experiencing some health issues. I noticed when I ate dairy products I would experience severe pain (which I think we need to get to know each other better before going into detail) and so I decided to cut dairy out of my diet (the worst thing was yogurt -which is my favourite dairy item – yes more than cheese, but certainly not more than butter!) When i was introduced to the alkaline diet I didn’t know what I would be in for, until I learned that it was about wholesome, natural foods. No dairy, limited meat, no canned or processed items, limited fruit and little to no grains. I picked up a copy of The pH Miracle and started reading. The premise is to get the acid/alkaline balance in your body back to where it is healthy and at it’s happiest. It starts out with a juice fast – they wanted us to do it for a few weeks, we lasted about 5 days. The purpose, to rid your body of as many toxin’s as possible in the least amount of time. 

After coffeeI ran a bunch of errands since it wasn’t raining and I wanted to get outside and get some exercise, before heading out to see my friends for an Epicure party. Have you ever been to an Epicure party? It’s pretty fabulous. You get to spend time with wonderful people and try different flavours of dips, dressings, seasonings, salts etc. The food was delicious (not all alkaline or gluten free, which I’m paying for today, but delicious none the less) It was great to see some of my favourite people. A weekend full of fabulous friends and food!

20131118-210211.jpg

20131118-210218.jpg
On this rainy- then sunny – then rainy then sunny, sunday – I made my bread and some homemade tomato soup. 

More to look forward to this week (my list of things just from the past 2 days is getting bigger – so might have to write sooner rather than later).

I’m going to leave you with this, my love (obsession?) for bottled water!</

20131118-210338.jpg

See you soon!
Taïsa

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    I am wanting to get into making bread but I have to find a recipe that will work for Juan too. I will try this one but let me know when you find that perfect one! 🙂 Maz

  2. Taisa Rose says:

    Hey Maz – I will definitely keep the recipe’s coming! This bread is awesome – and as it says best on the first day it’s made. It was really easy to make as well!

Leave a Reply

