What you eat = how you feel

I realized yesterday that it has been weeks since my last post. I realized this because I was overwhelmed, tired, sensitive and stressed out. I pay attention to my body and listen to how it feels. I was overwhelmed, tired, sensitive and stressed out so I listened to that and decided to make a change in where I was spending my energy. What caused me to feel this way? Why did I have a reaction to something that couldn’t be confirmed and create additional stress?

I pay attention to my body.

It was telling me to:
– Get more sleep – going to bed at 11-12 at night and getting up at 5am to workout wasn’t going to work
– Take my break in the middle of my work day – go for a walk, run, yoga class, get outside and get some fresh air – that working 9.5hrs straight was worse than taking the time I needed to rejuvenate and refresh my mind
– To cut out the excess sugar, and not give into cravings because they were causing me to feel all the above

I pay attention to my body because my body likes it when:
– I eat vegetables – mostly raw, low sugar, fresh and crisp vegetables that are as local as possible, and organic as often as possible
– I drink my liquid chlorophyll first thing when I wake up in the morning – kick start my body, cleanse any toxins that may be lingering from the day before and feed my brain
– I get enough protein – and not as much from meat sources as plant sources, eggs, fish, chicken, some beef (I don’t really like pork….yup the one person on earth who isn’t really a fan of bacon….right here…)

I pay attention to my body because my body is controlled by how I take care of it. If I am eating well, getting enough sleep, exercising and having fun – my body feels amazing. If I eat dairy, mix animal proteins with carbs or have too much meat and bread, my whole demeanour changes. I practice an alkaline diet – (by diet I don’t mean diet, I mean the way I eat as in food) because thats how my body functions best.

No Dairy
– Its yogurt and sour cream that my body hates – but I don’t appreciate dairy the way I used to now anyways. I limit how much dairy which in turn prevents phlegm (I talk on the phone all day the last thing I want is phlegm) and other awful reactions
– I avoid the awful pain I get when I eat the above

No Gluten
– I choose to not eat gluten. I am not celiac but I am gluten intolerant and this means that each glutinous bite creates havoc inside that seems worth it at the time, but clearly isn’t. It’s hard on my body physically – but more importantly it causes my mental/emotional state to alter dramatically.

Food Combining
– As mentioned – carbs (rice, potatoes etc) NOT to be eaten with animal proteins (eggs are ok…but gauge how you feel)
– Veggies and carbs – go great together
– Meat and veggies – also great together

Sugar
– I’ve kicked my sugar cravings before – and I will do it again – thank you Christmas for bringing me short bread cookies, advent calendars and endless amounts of all
– Operation kick sugar cravings is in full effect (did I not just bake gluten free peanut butter cookies because I wanted something sweet? I had 2 and they were gluten free!)

By eliminating dairy, gluten and sugar (I still eat some fruit) but incorporating my greens and veggies, my body feels at its best. So when I checked in with myself I knew something had to change.

Pay attention to your body….it’s telling you what to do!

20140108-213208.jpg

Latin Stuffed Spaghetti Squash (from The Comfort Of Cooking)
Ingredients:
1 medium spaghetti squash

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1/2 red onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 jalapeno pepper, minced (leave seeds in for more heat)

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 Tablespoon ground cumin

1/2 Tablespoon oregano

1/2 Tablespoon chili powder

Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper

1 (15 oz.) can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup frozen corn, thawed

1/2 cup freshly torn cilantro, plus more for garnish

Juice of 1 lime

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

Method:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
Cut the squash in half, spoon out the seeds and discard. Place halves in the microwave for approximately 15mins. When its ready you’ll then scrape up the spaghetti squash flesh with a fork, creating the “spaghetti”. You can also use the oven although it takes longer

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high. Add onion, garlic, jalapeno and red bell pepper. Sauté 2 minutes. Stir in cumin, oregano, chili powder, and a good pinch of salt and pepper. Sauté 1 more minute. Stir in beans, corn, half of cilantro and lime juice until well combined. Add the “spaghetti” from each squash to the vegetable mixture and stir to combine. Taste and season as desired.

Set oven to broil. Stuff each squash half with the squash-vegetable mixture and top with grated cheddar. Broil until cheese melts and gets brown and bubbly, 1-2 minutes.

Sprinkle with remaining cilantro and serve warm.

Enjoy!
***In this picture I did not have black beans, so I used chickpeas, I had some hardboiled eggs that didn’t get eaten at lunch, I had some mushrooms and tomatoes that needed to get eaten etc. Use whatever you have that makes sense.***
***Cheese is optional, you can also make up a guacamole and use that instead (alkaline)***

20140108-214711.jpg

Leave a Reply

