Yoga & Training

As many of you know I have been trying to get fit and healthy for most of my life. I was almost at my goal when I went through some huge life changes and managed to gain back all the weight I had lost plus an extra few pounds totalling a weight gain of 42lbs. With my new job, my wedding and my overall self confidence I wanted to make a change.

I had been eating well……Monday-Friday….and then indulging on weekends, and not exercising consistently. This meant a lot of minimal effort with no results. What happens when you are “working hard” only to stay where you are and continue to beat yourself up? Failure. You feel like you’ve given it your all, you’ve had no results, so what’s the point? This is something that I practiced on a regular basis. Eat well, workout, don’t see results, quit. Over and over.

When I got my new job and learned I was being fully supported by everyone I came into contact with, it felt natural and smart to make my first goal a health goal. Losing weight was the ultimate for physical health, getting my body so healthy that when I eventually got pregnant my baby would be in the Shangri La of I wombs lol. But saying I want to lose 54 lbs (because I wanted to be below the lowest I’d been previously) just wasn’t enough. It was easy to say I will lose 54 lbs by August 30th. But it didn’t excite me. I didn’t feel inspired by this. How was losing weight an exciting goal?

As I was in my first few weeks of my new job I realized I needed to challenge myself physically in a way that I would lose weight but have an end result (aside from Shangri La womb, being able to run in a sports bra and just have a number to refer to) I wanted something to accomplish while losing weight. So I decided that I would train for Seawheeze!

Seawheeze is a half marathon that lululemon puts in every year. I have never ran more than a few minutes aside from when I used to play soccer, nor have I ever had a desire to run. I come from a family of speed walkers (yes the ones that looking funny but man can they move) not runners. We play sports and we walk and dance and skate but we don’t run.

That was the first step. Stop saying I wasn’t a runner. Because guess what? I am now!
I started my run training on December 14th. Between run days I do spin classes and I’m hoping to also get to the pool for some swimming. With the inflammation in the muscles surrounding my hip, lower back, inner thigh and IT Band, I have to pay close attention to each action I take. This means doing multiple yoga classes through out the week on top of everything else. We also know I’m riding horses twice a week and trying to fit in everything else life has to offer such as cleaning, eating, sleeping and maybe I’ll even get time with Ian! We do spend time together exercising but we also want to have fun!

I haven’t created a schedule yet but that’s the next step!

The race is August 23rd, 2014. I’ll run a half marathon, get fit and challenge myself to do something I’d never thought I’d do before šŸ™‚ wish me luck!!!

20131227-153705.jpg
Smiling after my first run. A sign of what’s to come!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Maz says:

    So proud of you Taisa…I know you can do this and I am excited for you!

    1. Taisa Rose says:

      Thanks Maz! I’m really excited and super motivated… This is happening!

  2. Anonymous says:

    You’re doing so well! Keep running and chasing your goals! xo

    1. Taisa Rose says:

      Thank you!!!! I’m trying. And I’m ready for this.

Leave a Reply

