Apple Date Cake with Coconut Glaze

Its been awhile again – but I wanted to share that I’ve been working on my vision and goals and decided that if I want to be successful with my blog I must write at least 3 days a week.

You are all witness that in addition to my fitness, food and sleep oh and yes I work as well, regime, I will also commit to three blog posts per week.

Today is the Heritage Classic hockey game between the Vancouver Canucks and the Ottawa Senators. It’s tough because I was an Ottawa fan and have now converted to a Canuck fan. Good choice as far as I’m concerned.

My brother and sister-in-law and my darling nephew Nixon were visiting for the game. It’s been fun and we’ve had some nice time to spend with Nixon. He is so sweet and gives the best hugs and kisses.

20140306-170934.jpg

Since we didn’t get tickets for the game we are watching it at home while cooking and baking of course. Ian has prepared a delicious meatloaf (secret ingredient – mushrooms, throw a cup of them in the food-pro and dice them up tiny and it keeps it so moist and add lots of flavour.

I however decided that since I baked an Apple Date Cake for a friends baby’s 1st birthday party, that I wanted to make one for us as well. As you know this is not part of an alkaline diet (I am working on creating a new recipe to make it paleo – GF would be easy but I want to make it paleo since it would be so easy to do!) however I have been craving some sweet baked goods for a while now and decided this was what I wanted!

Apple Date Cake with Coconut Glaze

1 cup peeled chopped apple – I used Spartan – doesn’t really matter what kind, works out to about 1 apple
1 cup chopped dates – make sure they are pitted, soak them in hot water to soften them to ease the chopping
1 cup boiling water
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup butter – salted or unsalted whatever you have
1 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt

**You can chopped the apple into chunks then add to food pro, and you can pre-chop the dates as well. This time I did them both in the food pro and then slowly added the boiling water and then baking soda (I actually forgot the baking soda today, but that’s not normal)

Mix first 4 ingredients in the food pro
Cream butter and sugar together
Add vanilla and the egg to butter and sugar mix
Alternate dry ingredients with apple and date mix to butter
Pour batter into 8X8 pan and bake for 40-50 mins (if you use a 11X13 pan bake for 35mins
at 350 degrees

Coconut Glaze
4 tablespoons (1/4 cup) butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup shredded coconut – sweetened or unsweetened – I use unsweetened
4 tablespoons (1/4 cup) milk or cream – I use half and half

Place all ingredients in a pot on the stove and mix until butter is melted and sugar.
Pour over hot cake once it’s finished baking.
Pop it back in the oven on broil for a few minutes to brown the top

Cool and eat!
SO moist and delicious!

**Note: I dislike cooked apples, you won’t see much in the way of pies that involve apple or crisps or crumbles or turnovers on this blog if it includes apples. You will however enjoy this cake as much as I do because it’s THAT good!

20140306-170904.jpg

2 thoughts on “Apple Date Cake with Coconut Glaze

Leave a Reply

