Gluten Free Fish & Chips – homemade tartar

I didn’t have to work today and I asked Ian what he wanted for dinner. More often than not I get “you decide”.

I thought rather than cook maybe we’d go out. Grab some fish and chips and a nice cold glass of white wine or taste a few beers. Beer and wine are not on the weekday menu. Ian for the first time said “I want fish & chips!” and because we have all the stuff to make fish and chips at home I decided to cook.

***I think I’ve mentioned this before but Ian and I are not celiac but we do have an intolerance to gluten. That means whenever possible we use or make gluten free products. I had some gluten this weekend and I had stabbing pains in my stomach. Not cool. In the case of fish and chips the recipe I used just happened to be gluten free and I just happened to have all the ingredients. (No surprise there!) if/when we don’t choose gluten free we do so knowing how we are going to feel after. So with this dinner already being “bad” might as well make it “sans gluten”!

Fish Batter

2 (8 ounce) cod/haddock/halibut/snapper (I had 4 – there is more than enough batter)
2 cups rice flour (I used white rice flour)
1 tablespoon baking powder
3 teaspoons salt (this was WAY too much I’d actually do 1.5 teaspoons)
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
(any other seasoning that you may like – I didn’t add any)
1 can soda water + extra water (the batter was way too thick so needed to thin it out)
1 large egg slightly beaten
1/2 cup rice flour for dredging

1. Mix flour, salt, baking powder, pepper together
2. Mix egg and soda water together
3. Add step 1 & 2 together
4. The mixture will be quite thick – add just enough water that it is runnier – this will allow the batter to be lighter on the fish
5. Dredge pieces of fish in the rice flour and dip in batter then fry – 4-5mins and golden brown. Oil heat should be at 375

Tartar Sauce

5 small/2 big pickles – whatever you have (relish would work)
5 (or so) black olives
1 teaspoon capers (or caper berries)
2 tablespoons shallot
2 tablespoons white onion (I only added this because I had some diced up already and figured I might as well use it)
1 cup mayonnaise – I’d prefer to make my own mayo but didn’t have time – and you may need to add a little more
1 wedge of lemon juice

1. Chop all the above ingredients – use a food pro, mini chopper or by hand
2. Mix together with mayo and lemon
3. Add additional mayo should you need more

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    YUMMY! That looks awesome Taisa!

Leave a Reply

