Steak Chimmichurri & Dairy Free Banana Almond Ice Cream

Last night I wanted beef! It doesn’t happen often as I prefer to stay alkaline and have leaner meats like chicken and fish.

But sometimes when I get a hankering, I get a hankering!

Ian picked up some beautiful Rib Eye Steaks and while he was doing that I was chopping up some herbs for a fresh chimmichurri. I didn’t want to have any starch as we try and only to do meat and veg so we can avoid that bloated feeling we get by mixing meat and carbs. I decided to grill some eggplant – nothing on it just for some filler and extra veg. I quartered 3 tomatoes and sliced some white onion rings and tossed them in a bowl with some chimmichurri onto a pan into the oven for 15 mins (or so – just so they cooked). I then grilled some asparagus on the same pan the onions and tomatoes were on and it soaked up some of the flavour.

Chimmichurri

1 bunch fresh cilantro
1 cup fresh italian parsely
4 cloves of garlic
1/2 of a shallot
2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
Salt and pepper to taste
Olive oil – enough to coat all the herbs as though the herbs were sitting in oil

Chop everything and mix in a bowl. Add liquid and serve with steaks. Can go on top, or on the side for dipping.

***Typically I add green onion and a small bunch of fresh basil, but I didn’t have any so I made it with what I had. I have never added the vinegar before but thought since I was trying something new I’d try the vinegar. I think next time I might do lemon juice.
***You can also add some chilli flakes to give it a little kick
***I’ve seen this done in a blender – but until I perfect it myself I won’t even tell you on here how to do it. It can often turn to a light foamy green paste that doesn’t quite taste right. If you have a food processor or a hand chopper you can use that and just add the liquid after.

Chimmichurri Butter
*Because my steak cannot be consumed without butter*

Mix above chimmichurri with salted butter
Place on warm steak/veggies/bread/potato whatever you want. It’s delicious!

20140319-182110.jpg

20140319-182117.jpg

20140319-182206.jpg

We also enjoyed our steak – as we don’t have it often – with some of the “good wine” – Why wait?

20140319-182315.jpg

***Please note that we also cut our steaks in half so we had them for lunch today as well

Dessert – I’ve been meaning to try to make dairy free ice cream (made with frozen bananas) and just threw something together without a recipe (going by memory) I will definitely try some of the ones I did find though using coconut milk ice cubes (hello!)

Dairy Free Banana Almond Ice Cream

3 Frozen bananas
2 tablespoons almond Milk
1 tablespoon almond butter
2 tablespoons honey – this doesn’t blend well but thats ok
Sprinkling of cinnamon – for serving

Place all ingredients in a food processor or powerful blender
Buzz till smooth
***I added the almond milk to help break up the banana and smooth it out

Place in a bowl and return to freezer so it can harden a bit. We were impatient and only let it harden for 20mins (was more like a frozen mousse) but would certainly make the night before or earlier to enjoy later

Sprinkle cinnamon on top and enjoy!

You could add chocolate chips or coconut chips etc. We will get creative!

20140319-182837.jpg

Delicious and nutritious!

One thought on “Steak Chimmichurri & Dairy Free Banana Almond Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

