GF Eggplant Parmesan – Second Invention

Today I decided since my eggplant was not going to make it over the weekend that I needed to cook it. I had some cheddar cheese and some tasty tomato “sauce” in a can (it’s valaroso Pizza sauce – AH-MAZ-ING!). I didnn’t want to do, nor could I do traditional eggplant parmesan so I winged it! I guess it’s not technically my invention in terms of the flavours but I used me own ingredients and temperatures so I’m getting closer!

Batter

1 cup crushed CHEX rice cereal – I tossed it in my mini food processor to get it really fine
1/2 cup almond meal
1 tablespoon dried Oregano (if I had fresh I’d use it)
1 tablespoon dried basil – would add fresh at the end but still use the dried for batter
Salt and pepper
1 egg and some almond milk (if you have it)

Method

Slice eggplant
Dip in egg mix
Coat in CHEX/Almond meal blend
Pan fry in olive oil until golden brown on each side

Pop fried eggplant into an oven proof dish
Cover with tomato sauce (whatever you have – seasoned canned tomatoes, pizza sauce, spaghetti sauce)
Cover with cheese – how much do you have? How much do you want?

Bake at 350 for 15mins
Once baked pop to the top rack and hit broil to get the cheese golden brown

It hit all the cravings and was warm and tasty. I enjoyed the cheese – we shall see how I feel later!

20140403-211046.jpg

One thought on “GF Eggplant Parmesan – Second Invention

Leave a Reply

