Best Kale Salad…I’ve ever made

Something about fresh, homegrown vegetables that I absolutely love. Not only does it take me back to my child hood but it reminds me why I want to be in the country to raise my own family.

My darling friend Maz stocked me up! I not only devoured all her homegrown cherry tomatoes, but she sent me home with this jackpot.

20140713-213751.jpg

Some beautiful kale, all her cilantro and enough basil to make pesto! With the heat in Vancouver being upwards of 33 degrees the only thing we could eat was something chilled. NO cooking with this heat! We had just watched a couple of Anthony Bourdain’s Parts Unknown – Colombia and Sicily and I was feeling very inspired to cook, but decided to make something with my fresh greens instead.

Enter, the best kale salad I’ve had ever! I know that sounds crazy but seriously Kale is always SO bitter and tough that I put it in soups or through the juicer and rarely just eat it as a salad. I know it’s wicked good for you but I had never enjoyed it like this.

Kale Salad

Ingredients:
Chopped Fresh Kale – as much as you want to make of salad, don’t forget to remove the spines
5 carrots -julienned – I used my julienne peeler to get the thin ribbons
1avocado – diced
Sunflower seeds – 1/2 cup – depends on how much salad again
1 whole bunch of green onion – use the appropriate amount to the rest of the salad
1 apple cut into small pieces – I used the apple wedger and then sliced those thinly
4-5 cloves Garlic
Scallion Oil
Salt
Pepper

“Dressing”
Drizzle scallion olive oil (about 2 tabelespoons) on the kale and toss and massage the kale for a few minutes – if you don’t have scallion olive oil you could use regular, or something different like walnut oil or avocado oil – the scallion oil I think made this killer
I then added all the other ingredients on top
Crushed about 4-5 cloves of garlic
More oil
Salt and pepper to taste

20140713-215004.jpg

Toss it all up and enjoy!

20140713-215041.jpg

Now you might be wondering about the cilantro and the basil. I also made Tuna Ceviche to have with this salad. Another great meal for a hot day! I’ll tell you how I made it some other time, but for now here’s the pic I took after eating half of it and forgetting that I hadn’t taken a picture yet.

20140713-215314.jpg

Oh and I also made a Peach Pie that I will share later as well – another instance of oops I forgot to take the picture before I started eating!

20140713-215441.jpg

One thought on “Best Kale Salad…I’ve ever made

Leave a Reply

