Long Overdue – Beef Rendang

Hi everyone!

How are you? I know it’s been awhile and I also know that I’ve been saying that a lot lately on my posts.

Sadly life has taken a few twists and turns and rather than having time and energy, I’ve had neither.

Emotionally I’ve been sensitive.
Mentally I’ve been exhausted.
Physically I’ve been in pain.

I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus. Focusing on my work and myself and giving myself the time I needed to come back.

In spirit of coming back!!!! Let me present you with my beef rendang!

Beef Rendang

Ingredients

1 teaspoon ground coriander seed
1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
2.5 centimeters ginger – fresh roughly chopped
4 large cloves garlic roughly chopped
200 grams shallots (4 large shallots) roughly chopped
chili pepper flakes to taste (I used about 3 tablespoons)
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 lbs beef shanks or shortribs cut into large cubes (I used beef shanks)
2 stalks lemongrass white part only, smashed
4 kaffir lime leaves (I used dried)
2.5 centimeters galangal sliced into coins
2 packs freeze dried coconut cream rehydrated in 2 cups of warm water, or 1 can coconut milk (I used canned coconut milk)
1 tablespoon palm sugar brown sugar can be substituted

Method

Place first 6 ingredients in a food processor and blend until a paste has formed.

Heat oil and brown meat. Set meat aside.
In the oil add lemongrass, kaffir leaves and galangal to pot and heat until fragrant.
Remove above and add to browned meat.

Add spice paste to pot and cook at high heat until moisture has evaporated. If it starts to cook/burn add some water. Stirring frequently.
Add coconut milk and sugar and stir.

Return meat and herbs to pot. Temperature to medium low and cover but leave some room for air to escape. Cook for 3-4 hrs until meat is tender.

Once meat is tender turn up to high heat and cook until more liquid has evaporated. Stirring constantly so nothing burns. Best to keep it over night. I did this step the next day as it was midnight when the beef was done its initial cooking.

Serve with rice. I made coconut rice and Bok Choy

.IMG_0956IMG_0957IMG_0958

From left to right – When I first added the meat and coconut milk.

What the Rendang looked like after cooking for 4 hrs then resting over night

The Rendang before I served it.

IMG_0961

Dinnertime!!!

3 thoughts on “Long Overdue – Beef Rendang

  1. Pingback: Spicy Eggplant | Here's to Butter

Leave a Reply

