Clean Eating 2015

Hello everyone! Happy New Year!

As some of you know I spent several weeks in Kelowna visiting family and I just got back to town a few days ago. It was amazing to have the time to recharge and the time with my nephews and my niece was unreal.

While I was away I spent each night enjoying wonderful dinners, prepared by my mom, sisters in law or myself. I posted all of these on instagram except one (that I failed to take a picture of because I was so hungry) and I got lots of requests for recipes. I will get to as many of them as possible in the next bit, but lets start with one that I just tried and enjoyed for my clean eating refocus for 2015.

I have had a lot of changes the past year and a lot of horrible things happen that have taught me many lessons. The loss of one of my dearest friends really put my life into perspective. I have done a lot of talking in my day and really feel its time to focus on action! I have set out many goals for myself some I’ve hit and many I have not and for the first time in a long time I’m really dedicated on living a good life that makes me be the best I can be but also a life that I know it’s ok to be real and when I’m not ok, be fine with that feeling. I got rid of facebook for a while and will likely open a Heres to Butter account, so in the mean time freel free to follow me on here as well as on instagram @taisarose

Thai Turkey Salad

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey (or chicken – I don’t like ground chicken and I had turkey so thats what I used)
2 tablespoons coconut oil
1 shallot
3 cloves minced garlic
2 limes juiced
1-2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
2-3 tablespoons fish sauce
1 inch grated ginger
sugar (honey, palm sugar) to taste – this can be omitted
3 cups shredded cabbage (green or red)
1/2 cup (2 carrots) grated
handful of basil, cilantro and mint (I had cilantro and parsley so thats what I used)
2 green onions chopped
1/2 cucumber – deseeded and sliced into half moon shapes

Heat oil in the pan. Add the garlic and shallot and cook until slightly caramelized
Add ground meat. I cook it until its crispy golden brown as that’s how I like it.

While the meat is cooking prepare the veggies and herbs and the sauce. Juice the lime, add chilli flakes, ginger and fish sauce (and sugar) set aside.

Grate carrot and cabbage – I used the food processor but its not really necessary for the cabbage as it makes it a fine grate and not a thick cut – whichever you prefer really. Mix all the herbs, veggies and carrots.

You can pre mix this and server to probably 4 people comfortably. I however kept everything separate and is lasted a few meals and this way the veggies etc didn’t get soggy.

It is a bit high calorie as the portion calls for 2 – but if you stretch it to 4 that will reduce how many calories you are getting (from the turkey and the coconut oil) Approx. 512 calories if this is 2 servings.

20150106-161057.jpg

20150106-161137.jpg

2 thoughts on “Clean Eating 2015

  1. This looks awesome Taisa, I will make it ans will even use turkey. Keep them coming you are an inspiration for me to continue to eat well and live well.

  2. EXAMPLES OF INFANTS BAPTISM IN SCRIPTURE? BY STEVE FINNELL

    How many examples of infant baptism are found in the Bible? Answer: NONE. Infant baptism is a man-made doctrine.

    An example given to support infant baptism is the conversion of the jailer. (Acts 16:23-34.) The reasoning being that the jailer’s whole household was baptized.

    1. Acts 16:31 They said, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved, you and your household.”(NASB)

    The whole household was required to believe. The jailer could not believe for his household. Infants are not capable of believing the gospel of Christ.

    2. Acts 16:32 And they spoke the word of the Lord to him together with all who were in his house.(NASB)

    The word was spoken to all in the house. Babies have no capacity to understand the word of the Lord. No infant responded to the gospel that night.

    3. Acts 16:33-34……and immediately he was baptized, he and all his household. 34 And he brought them into his house and set food before them, and rejoiced greatly, having believe in God with his whole household. (NASB)

    Who was baptized that night? Answer: The Jailer and all his household. What preceded their baptism in water? They all believed in God. No, infants were baptized that night. Infants cannot believe in God. Infants cannot believe in the Lord Jesus Christ.

    There is no example in Scripture of infants being baptized. You can only find infant baptism in man-made creed books and other writings of men.

    The is no example in the Bible of unbelieving adults nor of unbelieving infants being forced to be baptized in water. There is no Scripture of any non-believers being baptized in water, period.

    Jesus said in Mark 16:16 He who has believed and has been baptized shall be saved…(NASB)

    Men say “Baptize unbelieving infants for forgiveness from original sin and then teach them to believe and they shall be saved.”(Note: The doctrine of original sin is also a man-made teaching.)

    If you can baptize unbelieving infants then you can baptize unbelieving adults as well.

    Galatians 1:8 But even if we, or an angel from heaven, should preach to you a gospel contrary to what we have preached to you, he is to be accursed!

    YOU ARE INVITED TO FOLLOW MY BLOG. http://steve-finnell.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

