Thai Quinoa Salad – Meal planning for the win!

Since I recently went on a Facebook break I have spent more time on Pinterest scoping out recipes and workouts, among other things. I have started to try and be better at only buying a limited amount of food to really avoid throwing stuff out. Isn’t that the worst?

The leftovers from my Thai Turkey Salad made this recipe very simple to prepare. I cooked the amount of quinoa it recommended, however I realized afterward that it made 12-16 portions – waaaayyyy too much for this girl who doesn’t eat more than twice of ANY leftovers and with limited freezer space, I was smart and made less.

Yes they are similar flavours, but I had these two dishes days apart and the veggies stayed fresh because I didn’t mix them with any dressings. What do you do for your mealplans? Any advice would be great!

Thai Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:
1.5 cups uncooked quinoa (I cooked this amount but only used half for the recipe)
2-3 cups shredded red cabbage (I used green but the red would be more beautiful!)
1-2 red bell peppers (I used half of one)
1/2 red onion – diced – I did about 1/4 of the onion
2 cups shredded carrots – I used 1 carrot worth
1 cup chopped cilantro
1/2 cup diced green onion
1-1.5 cups cashews – toasted – save some for garnish on top
1 lime (I like it limey so I would use the lime to taste)

Dressing:
1/2 cup natural peanut butter – I used just under half for my portion
2 tablespoons freshly grated ginger
1/3 cup gluten free soya sauce
2 tablespoons honey (I would do this to taste I only used 1 tablespoon)
2 tablespoons sesame oil
Lime juice – helps to thin out the dressing

Cook the quinoa
Mix in the veggies and herbs once the quinoa has cooled
Squeeze lime on the quinoa/veggie mix
Top with dressing and mix delicately top with cashews.

20150108-140037.jpg

One thought on “Thai Quinoa Salad – Meal planning for the win!

Leave a Reply

