Can’t Get Enough Mexican!

My go to when I’m hungry and don’t always feel like cooking is anything that comprises of taco seasoning, cilantro and corn & beans! If you have any leftover vegetables and cilantro you can whip up a delicious meal in no time! The best part is that Mexican is easily done gluten free and has so many flavours and textures. 

Today I couldn’t eat enough food. I had tons of healthy food but just wanted to eat all day. I knew I had all the fixings for something Mexican so decided to whip it up. 

The beans, corn, cilantro and onion mix can be stored in a separate container and used for many things. In a salad, in a taco and like I did tonight on top of a yam. 

The turkey is the same. Cooked in a pan with taco seasoning and added to any of the above. Then you can get creative with salsa, sour cream (Greek yogurt as a substitute) avocado or cheese. The yam, tortillas (my addiction) or even rice can be used to add some carbs or just have on some greens. 

For the below picture I will list the ingredients. 

  • 1 can black beans (soak your own for a healthier option)
  • 1 can corn 
  • Half bunch cilantro chopped
  • 3-4 green onions chopped 
  • 1/2 small red onion diced
  • 1 lb ground turkey 
  • 2 tablespoons taco seasoning (I make my own and will post the recipe)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil 
  • 1/4 avocado diced
  • 2 tablespoons salsa or fresh tomato
  • 1 yam cooked and diced
  • Optional: couple dollops yogurt/sour cream or sprinkle some cheese
  1. Heat the oil in a pan and add turkey. Cook part way then add the taco seasoning. Add additional for more flavour. 
  2. While turkey is cooking prepare corn, beans, cilantro and onions. 
  3. Cook yam. I’m a fan of just popping it in the microwave and then chopping it up in a bowl for serving. 
  4. Top yam with cooked turkey (add cheese if you want so it melts a bit) then too with corn/bean mix. Add salsa and yogurt. 
  5. Enjoy! 

  

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Angus says:

    Mmmmmm Taco salad, my mouth is watering…πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›

  2. Anonymous says:

    Looks delicious! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

