#singlesowemingle

  
A few things I’ve learned since I became single (I realize this is not a story I’ve shared. Nor am I ready to. That being said I’m an open book and happy to discuss just not ready to write about it publically yet.)

#1. It’s expensive! Being single means you have all the time in the world to yourself. This can lead to tons of dinner dates, movies, girls night and irrational purchases out of sheer boredom. 

#2. 24 hours in a day makes more sense. I’ve come to a decent routine of working out. Breakfast. Getting ready for work. Working. And then bam I have all this incredible time to myself. It doesn’t feel like all of a sudden I can’t do anything or wishing I had more time because quite frankly I have so much time. (Note: I do have a very busy schedule but I choose to have it that way)

#3. No more blame. So the kitchen is a mess the laundry isn’t done and you’re hungry and have no clean workout clothes for your run. Well guess what? You made the mess. So you’re going to have to clean it. 

#4. You eat better and workout more. It’s a funny thing that happens when all of a sudden you have complete control of what comes into the house and how much of it you consume. While you may be out more with friends, you still take the time for yourself because you can. And you don’t feel guilty about it. 

#5. You value your family and friends more. Sure you love your family and friends even when in a relationship but when your single it changes. No more attention split between parents and partners rather you get all the attention at once. Friends still invite you out even if your single and some in fact prefer it this way. 

#6. People love asking if you’re seeing anyone. Almost an obsession as though you can’t be single. Let me tell you this is my first time in a very long time and it’s not about jumping in to the next thing, it’s about taking the time for myself and learning who I am without someone else.

#7. It’s ok to ask for what you want. This took being single to really sink in. You can’t just sit by and expect things to happen or for people to be able to read your mind. You have to ask for what you want. But first you need to know what it is you want. 

***As I learn more, I will write more***

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Maz says:

    Great insight Taisa! Xo

  2. Anonymous says:

    All very true. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

