Sablefish aka blackcod: first of many

on

My girl LP came over tonight for date night. The evening in which I spoil her with good food and wine and treat her like I’m the best boyfriend alive. She loves it and so do I. 

You know I love to cook. But I especially love cooking for other people who truly enjoy food. I recently purchased some sablefish (or blackcod) on sale frozen at Thrifty foods. It was ethically sourced and packed in two delightful portion sizes making it quick and easy for two. 

Good ol’ Pinterest came in handy. I wanted healthy, delicious and light for this meal. I served the fish with white rice (because sometimes brown rice just won’t cut it) and steamed green beans (one of my favorite sides to any protein meal). 

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 3 tablespoons coconut aminos (soy sauce works but no gluten and soy for this girl)
  • 3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 1 clove grated garlic
  • 1 teaspoon grated ginger
  • 4 (5-6 ounce) blackcod/sablefish filets (I only used 2)
  • Salt and pepper (season fish)
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil – to sear the fish
  • Green onion – 2 stalks chopped

Method:

  1. Mix first 7 ingredients in a baking dish. Add fish and coat with marinade. Let sit in the fridge for 20 mins flipping half way. 
  2. Heat canola oil in pan. Remove fish from marinade and season with salt and pepper. Pan sear on medium heat 5 mins per side 
  3. Heat remaining marinade in a sauce pan until thickened (I brought it to a boil and let it cook for awhile)
  4. Serve with rice and green beans drizzle sauce on and top with chopped green onion

**21 day fix approved and gluten and soy free  

Leave a Reply

