Perspective 

Yesterday I went for a run. A 10km run. I went with my sister-in-law who has recently started running and who will be doing the 2015 Seawheeze with me. 

  
While we’ve both been training hard and have basically the same amount of experience running, she has been training on a hills while I’ve been on the flat. 

I was really excited to run her route and was feeling confident going into it. 

I started strong. Felt good. We had a good pace and could hold a conversation. Then we hit the first hill. Each hill after that was slowly chipping away at my confidence. I’d been running thinking I was doing so well and that if I shave 20-30mins off my time from last year (3hrs) I’d be doing well. But when I got to the next hill I was deflated. 

What I realized during my run was that it’s not about what others are doing or how they are doing it; but that I had to be ok with what I was doing and how I was doing it. Running those hills was discouraging because I hadn’t run hills. Running in +20 degree weather was hard because I’m used to it being colder. And I had to push myself even when I felt nauseous and my thighs were burning.

I got a reality check. My perspective was off. I also learned, it’s time to step up my game! Believe it or not, it wasn’t my hip that was hurting…and that is an accomplishment in and of itself. 

In light of my long weekend away, I will share moms lamb burger recipe with you. I am very spoiled when I see my family and I am thankful for each moment I have with them. 

Ingredients:

  • Ground lamb (2lbs)
  • Presidents choice mint sauce (1 jar)
  • Fresh mint – chopped
  • Red onion (1/2) diced
  • Salt & pepper
  • Goat cheese (1 tube)

Method:

  1. Mix all above ingredients except goat cheese. 
  2. Form 2 thin patties for each burger and place a slice of goat cheese between two slices and seal edges. 
  3. Grill on bbq and serve with homemade tzatziki, tomato and red onion. 

  

My monster burger. Two burgers in one! 


Burger buffet. Beef. Lamb. Turkey and curried pork. 

  Dessert: chia seed pudding.  

2 thoughts on “Perspective 

Leave a Reply

