Tejano Carnes Guisada – Beef Tacos

This weekend was wonderful! I got some exercise, saw one of my dearest friends marry the man of her dreams and whipped up a few goodies in the kitchen. 

  
Wedding guests, who are well dressed and certainly classy!

I saw a friend this afternoon and she said she was going to make steaks for dinner, she was craving beef. While I had steak at the wedding, I decided I’d grab some stewing beef. Without a plan…

Tomorrow my boss has a birthday and I’ve been eagerly waiting for this because it meant baking. So I whipped up his birthday treat and simultaneously started preparing my dinner. 

I spent a few minutes scrolling through Pinterest for ideas for my beef and landed on this recipe. Very easy but requires patience as it has to cook for 3+ hrs. Simple. Delicious. Tender morsels of beef that melt in your mouth. Yes please!!!

Tejano Carnes Guisada – Original Recipe

Ingredients:

  • Oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2-3 lbs stew beef
  • 1 large onion
  • 8 ounces tomato sauce 
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 1/2 or 1 teaspoon salt 
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 2 tablespoons beef bouillon

Method:

  1. Hear oil. Season beef pieces with salt and pepper. Without crowding the beef brown each piece on all sides. Add oil if necessary between batches of beef. 
  2. Set beef aside and cook sliced onions for 5-10 mins until almost fully cooked. Add beef, water, tomato sauce, bouillon and other ingredients and bring to a boil. 
  3. Once it’s boiled turn heat down and let simmer for 3+ hrs. The longer it cooks the thicker the sauce and you will not be disappointed!
  4. This can be eaten with rice and beans on a taco or in a bowl. I made guacamole, sour cream, chopped lettuce and added some tapatio hot sauce to give it an extra kick. 

  

One thought on “Tejano Carnes Guisada – Beef Tacos

Leave a Reply

