Another Goal CRUSHED!

This past weekend my family and I ran our second (my sis in laws first) half marathon. I got to spend 5 days with them which doesn’t happen that often and we had a blast. 

Last year I barely made it across the finish line if it weren’t for my parents and of course I barely trained. 2014 was a year to forget, and forgive. And so we move on. 

This year has been ALL about my fitness and myself. I managed to drop 26lbs and breezed through my second half marathon!

  
I trained with myself, with friends and with family only to come out at the end with all three by my side. The biggest difference (aside from the weight loss) was that I was mentally prepared for this race. It didn’t matter what happened in those 21km if mentally I was strong, I would be ok. If my hip started to hurt. Or my foot…it would be ok because it would hurt if I walked, so I kept on running! Mentally I pushed through. 

I remember KM 16…no big deal just a leisurely 5km to go. You got this!

My hip didn’t hurt. My body was saying: you got this. Keep it up. You can do it. 

  
I thought about my sister in law. She doesn’t slow down on the hills, she runs faster. So did I. 

I thought about my friend Christine. “Don’t walk, just slow down.”

And so I didn’t walk. I ran the entire race. Last year, I walked 90% of it!

I thought about my friends who physically can’t run but bust their butts to stay active and fit. And my friends who have been there to cheer me on every run, spin class and gym workout. I am so thankful for all the support. My buddy Steve who ran along next to me the whole way. Who helped me beat my time and who reminded me of who I am. Thanks buddy! It was awesome to share that with you. 

And of course my parents. Who motivated me and encouraged me like crazy! Who are so proud of me and I, so proud of them!

  
I am so happy with myself and proud of my family and friends. Next year….well you’ll have to wait to hear what’s in store!

In the mean time: Mom’s Zucchini Frittata!

  

  • Caramelized onion (1 onion)
  • Zucchini (3 cups, squeezed so there is no moisture)
  • Basil (fresh chiffonade, 1/4 cup)
  • Sun dried tomato (1/4 cup)
  • Parmesan (1/2 cup)
  • Eggs (8)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Mix it all up and bake it!

375 for 35-45 mins

***Above, single serving. We used extra to share with my Neighbour but the rest went into a greased pie plate.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Tanya says:

    Congratulations!!!! 🙌 You did it!!! Hurraaay!!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Taisa SO proud of you!!!!

  3. Maz says:

    So excited for you Taisa! Your mom’s Zucchini Frittata looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

