A long awaited return

Hi everyone!!! I have missed you all so very much. 

Hmmm so where have I been? 

Why haven’t I written? 

Excuses are not in the game plan and therefore I have to admit part of me has just simply not taken the time to write. I’m cooking, yes. Some baking here and there and of course still hitting the gym. All that being said, my phone hasn’t been working well which means less pictures and no iPad or laptop to keep me going. 

Enough is enough. I love my blog and those of you who have joined me in my journey so I decided to post whatever I could no matter how much of a struggle it was. (Struggle being the phone not the lack of interest in writing). 

Coles notes of the last….7 months. Yes it’s been that long since I shared any updates. 

I met a guy! His name is Matthew. He’s a Gemini and a golfer. He’s also pretty fantastic and I am having fun getting to know him and what it’s like to be in a healthy relationship. 

I am still at the same job. Wicked team and hitting goals! 

I started up with a trainer in January. Shout out to Neil Rosenthal of Rise Primal Coaching in Ottawa Ontario. I’m doing a Paleo diet with crossfit-Esque workouts and believe it or not, I actually workout less and eat more than before. My next goal for weight is to lose another 12lbs. Drop 20 mins from my half Marathon time and get through the Granfondo without barfing! I’ll take all the support I can get. More sleep is needed and keeping my stress level low is key!

Ummmmm what else. Been playing lots of golf. Back in the yoga studio after being away for a month or two and staying really focused on me. 

Biggest new goal – learning how to be present. Slowing down. And acknowledging all the things I am doing rather than focusing on what I’m not doing. 

What goals are you working on? Personal, professional, financial or health/fitness. I’d love to hear about them and help eachother achieve these goals no matter how big or small!

Now for the best part….

In spirit of saying hello and coming back to the blogesphere I present to you my first ever Black Forest Gâteaux that I made for Matthews birthday this past weekend. 

You guys. This cake is not paleo. It’s not gluten free. And it’s not low in sugar (you know I love my fats and calories so it’s full of those!) it is however thick dense rich chocolate cake with layers of mascarpone cream filling, chocolate ganache, two kinds of cherries and it’s absolutely delicious. 

Recipe here: Black Forest Gâteaux mildly adapted from Butter & Brioche

The only thing I did differently was I added espresso powder (you could use fresh espresso or coffee) to the boiling hot water. Coffee brings out the flavour in the chocolate. 


You can anticipate more paleo meals. And more talks about goals in the upcoming weeks. 

I missed you all. And I’m so glad to be back. 

6 thoughts on “A long awaited return

Leave a Reply

