What’s New & Veggie Hash

9.5 weeks ago I decided to take a break from drinking alcohol. I didn’t know how long I would go until I said it out loud one day and decided to commit. 14 weeks is the set amount of time for no alcohol which brings me exactly to the day of my birthday. 

Naturally when you tell people you’re not drinking and you are of child bearing age, it’s always “are you pregnant?” I giggle and assure you that I am not. While not drinking will help my body be ready to eventually carry a baby, the decision is actually deeper than that. 

I tell people it’s for two reasons. The first is overall health and weight management. You know I worked my butt off for over a year and am starting to feel good in my own skin. Why let alcohol take away all that hard work?! I’m an eater and if I have to choose, this (Caramelized Onion chicken and balsamic garlic roasted brussel sprouts) will always prevail over alcohol. 

I believe there is a balance when it comes to food, exercise and treats (sugar, alcohol, or whatever your sinful pleasures may be) and I believe that (because of reason number 2), I will get to that balance once I’m ready. 

Reason number 2 for going 14 weeks with no alcohol is because I have a tendency to consume more alcohol during stressful times, than any other. 

Being in a stressful state which I also refer to as “in chaos”, makes it easy for me to be unfocused and derailed from my goals. I got clear on a few goals in the last few months and my preference is to achieve them, or at least give myself the best possible chance to. 

So, I decided to stop drinking for 14 weeks. 

“Even over Christmas?” 

“What about all the parties?”

“I could never do that!”

“Wow! Good for you.”

“Do you miss it?”

Are some of the comments I get. All valid and all answered with a yes, I can still go to the parties, I choose to do it, thank you and well yes, sometimes I could really go for a glass of red wine or an ice cold beer! 

What’s my biggest learning or piece of success so far? Well if I’m not drinking when I’m stressed, I eat. What does this teach me? Something is going on for me and I want to explore that more. The clarity I have and the ability to dig deeper is astounding. Success so far? I’ve gone 9.5 weeks no alcohol and it’s really been no sweat!

This brings me to the “What’s new” category. 

What’s new: 

  • Renovated the last part of my condo in preparation to sell – shout out to my main man for working his butt off! 
  • Had to repaint the entire thing in less than 7 days because it needed to be lighter for the pictures and showings. (Side note: we were also on a juice cleanse during this time. Cause why not?)
  • SOLD my condo, over asking price in 6 days!!! Huge shout-out to my agent and friend Michelle Comens who made this process fun and easy. My mom may argue that I wasn’t playing it as cool as I let on after babysitting me for 48 hrs prior to any offers. And I’m ok with that!  
  • Started a house hunt for the purchase of our new home 
  • And. The. List. Goes. On!

This is such an exciting time for us and I’m loving every minute of it. 


Mediterranean Veggie Hash

Ingredients:

  • 2 Yukon gold potatoes – cut into small pieces
  • 2 cloves garlic – minced
  • 1 yellow onion – diced
  • 2 tablespoons Olive oil (I used coconut and it wasn’t the best option)
  • Handful of asparagus cut into 1inch pieces
  • Half a yellow pepper – diced
  • Handful of chopped fresh kale
  • 1 teaspoon zataar seasoning
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 cup drained beans – called for chickpeas, I used Romano cause it’s what I had. 
  • Eggs – poached on the side
  • Crumbled feta
  • Chopped green onion

Method:

  1. Heat oil and add garlic, onion and potatoe. Cool for 5-7 minutes. 
  2. Add remaining veggies (kale, pepper, beans and asparagus) cook another 5-7 minutes. Potatoes should be cooked through by now. 
  3. Add seasonings and adjust to taste. 
  4. Keep warm while poaching eggs. 
  5. Top with eggs, crumbled feta and chopped green onion. 

Note: you could use any veggies or any kind of potato you have. Also you can add more spices. I drizzled siracha on mine before I ate it and would add something spicy during the cooking process for future. 

Leave a Reply

